Data Protection Centre/Hubspot/How to Recover Deleted HubSpot Files

Categories

In this article

  • What happens when HubSpot contacts are deleted?
  • How to recover deleted HubSpot files
  • How to recover deleted files from the recycle bin
  • Limitations of native HubSpot retention
  • How to recover deleted files using SysCloud

How to Recover Deleted HubSpot Files

29 Mar 2022
5 min read
HubSpot provides an integrated platform for marketing, sales, and CRM that helps businesses manage files and associated contact engagement data. It is critical for administrators to understand the deletion and recovery system of HubSpot and know how to recover records in case of data loss. 
In this article, we explore what happens when HubSpot files are deleted, and how you can recover your permanently deleted files, with or without a backup. 

1. What happens when HubSpot files are deleted?

When a HubSpot file is deleted, it moves to the recycle bin. It stays here for 30 days after which it is permanently removed from HubSpot and no longer recoverable.

hubspot restore deleted files

2. How to recover deleted HubSpot files

HubSpot files can be recovered from the recycle bin within 30 days of deletion. Beyond 30 days, it is impossible to recover the files unless a backup solution like SysCloud is in place.  
Use the flowchart below to navigate to a desired section of the article. 

HubSpot restore deleted files flowchart

2.1. How to recover deleted files from the recycle bin

  • Step 1: Log in to your HubSpot account. Navigate to the ‘Files and Templates’ tab from the ‘Marketing’ dropdown menu and click ‘Files.’

s1

Note: 

-  If you have a Marketing Hub Started account, navigate to ‘Files’ under ‘Marketing.’ 
- If you are using HubSpot’s free tools, navigate to ‘Email’ under ‘Marketing.’ Click the ‘More tools’ dropdown menu on the left menu bar and select ‘Files.’ 

  • Step 2: Select the ‘Files trash’ link on the top-right corner.

s2
  • Step 3: Select the file(s) you wish to restore by checking the box(es) next to the name and click ‘Restore.’ Alternatively, you can click the ‘Actions’ button on an individual record and click ‘Restore.’

s3

Limitations of native HubSpot retention

1. Deleted files are available in the recycle bin only for 30 days after which they are permanently deleted.
2. You cannot restore a file from the recycle bin if there is an existing file with the same name.
3. Only the latest version of a file can be recovered. In other words, if two files with the same name/path are deleted, only the most recently deleted file can be recovered. The previous versions are permanently deleted.

2.2. How to recover deleted files using SysCloud

SysCloud provides a comprehensive backup solution for HubSpot with unlimited recovery. Moreover, you can view and recover previous versions of a file regardless of its date of deletion. 
Here’s how you can recover deleted files using SysCloud: 
  • Step 1: Log in to your SysCloud account and navigate to the HubSpot dashboard.

ss1
  • Step 2: Select the ‘Accounts’ card and select the account from which you want to recover the file(s).

ss2
  • Step 3: Select ‘Files’ from the Objects list.

ss3
  • Step 4: Select the file(s) you wish to restore and click ‘Restore.’

ss4
  • Step 5: Check the ‘Overwrite records’ box if you wish to replace duplicate files. Add comments (if required) and click ‘Restore’.

ss5

Click here to learn more about SysCloud backup for HubSpot.

Recommended content

Get actionable SaaS administration insights

We don’t spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

In this article

  • What happens when HubSpot contacts are deleted?
  • How to recover deleted HubSpot files
  • How to recover deleted files from the recycle bin
  • Limitations of native HubSpot retention
  • How to recover deleted files using SysCloud

Try HubSpot backup for free

Start 30-Day Free Trial
Certifications
Certifications